YES! Magazine Nominated for General Excellence. Read All About It.
Sections
32 items matching your search terms.
Filter the results.
Item type










New items since



Sort by relevance · date (newest first) · alphabetically
Article John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation
In the tradition of “Maus” and “Persepolis,” “March” tells the story of young African Americans who, like its author, rose up from the Jim Crow South to assert their human rights.
Located in Issues / Education Uprising
Article Slave and Slaveholder Descendants Break Free of History's Trauma—Together
Responding to past traumas like slavery and acts of terrorism can heal us—and future generations.
Located in Issues / Love and the Apocalypse
Article Veggies at the Liquor Store—and 5 Other Ways to Bring Food to Your Community
Out-of-the-box ideas for putting healthier food on our neighborhood plates—and make friends doing it.
Located in Issues / How to Eat Like Our Lives Depend On It
Article Bacteria’s Bad Rap: 6 Reasons Fermented Foods Are Good For You
Coffee, chocolate, cheese, beer—it’s rare for anyone to get through a day without eating fermented foods celebrated for their powerful flavors and unique healing qualities.
Located in Issues / How to Eat Like Our Lives Depend On It
Article Syria: Six Alternatives to Military Strikes
Many of the legal and diplomatic processes that led to peace in other times of conflict haven't even been tried yet in Syria.
Located in Peace & Justice
Article What’s Fairer than Fair Trade? Try Direct Trade With Cocoa Farmers
Fair trade is good, but it still leaves cocoa growers in poverty. Here’s how to do better.
Located in Issues / The Human Cost of Stuff
Article You Can’t Bounce Off the Walls If There Are No Walls: Outdoor Schools Make Kids Happier—and Smarter
New approaches to kindergarten offer us a glimpse of what childhood used to be, and still could be—the modern re-creation of the children’s garden. If we looked to these examples, we might be able to rescue childhood.
Located in Issues / Education Uprising
Article Italy’s “Slow Food” Pioneer: How My Love for Food Ripened into a Life's Work
“Our philosophy is good, clean, and fair food: Good because it is healthy and tasty; clean because it is produced with low environmental impact and with animal welfare in mind; and fair because it respects the work of those who produce, process, and distribute it.”
Located in Issues / How to Eat Like Our Lives Depend On It
Article Is Your Phone Smart Enough to Not Poison the People Recycling It? This One Is
Our throwaway electronics harm people overseas, but new trends in responsible design are not just smart—they’re kind.
Located in Issues / The Human Cost of Stuff
Article 10 Things Creative People Know
Everyday creative activities like knitting and cooking can boost your levels of serotonin and decrease anxiety.
Located in Issues / Education Uprising
Personal tools