YES! Magazine Nominated for General Excellence. Read All About It.
Sections
47 items matching your search terms.
Filter the results.
Item type










New items since



Sort by relevance · date (newest first) · alphabetically
Article Lessons from a Pay-It-Forward Restaurant: The Importance of Gratitude
At the Karma Kitchen, people enjoy a meal that’s already paid for—and are invited to continue the chain of generosity. In the process, organizers and participants alike learn the transformative power of gratitude.
Located in Happiness
Article The Boomers "Failed" Us: Climate Activist Tim DeChristopher on Anger, Love, and Sacrifice
First the anger, then the love—overcoming generational anger to find the courage required for the difficult work ahead.
Located in Issues / Power of Story
Article This Guy Moved Into His Parents’ House So a Homeless Family Could Live in His
Three extraordinary, everyday people who will make your day better.
Located in Issues / Love and the Apocalypse
Article Portland's Food Truck Heaven: How a New Kind of Fast Food Brings Jobs, Flavor, and Walkability
Immigrants and other restaurant workers get a way to rise in local economies. Communities get the best fast food they've ever had.
Located in Issues / How to Eat Like Our Lives Depend On It
Article Be a Maptivist! (And 4 Other Tips to Unleash Your Inner Cartographer)
Feeling a little lost? Looking for some direction in your life? Here are five unconventional ways to help you get where you're going.
Located in Issues / How to Eat Like Our Lives Depend On It
Article This Fifth-Grader Raised $200,000 to Clean Up the Gulf Oil Spill by Selling Watercolors
These three young activists found creative ways to tackle issues from climate change to voting rights.
Located in Issues / Education Uprising
Article 10 Hopeful Things That Happened in 2013 to Get You Inspired for What’s to Come
Beyond the headlines of conflict and catastrophe, this year’s top stories offered us some powerful proof that the world can still change—for the better.
Located in People Power
Article 11 Reasons Why We Should Not Attack Syria
Remember the last time we were told military strikes were needed because a Middle Eastern despot had used weapons of mass destruction?
Located in Peace & Justice
Article John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation
In the tradition of “Maus” and “Persepolis,” “March” tells the story of young African Americans who, like its author, rose up from the Jim Crow South to assert their human rights.
Located in Issues / Education Uprising
Article Slave and Slaveholder Descendants Break Free of History's Trauma—Together
Responding to past traumas like slavery and acts of terrorism can heal us—and future generations.
Located in Issues / Love and the Apocalypse
Personal tools