YES! Magazine Nominated for General Excellence. Read All About It.
Sections
Home » People Power » Grassroots Power

Nonprofit. Independent. Subscriber-supported. DONATE. How you can support our work.

Get a FREE Issue. Yes! I want to try YES! Magazine

YES! by Email
Join over 78,000 others already signed up for FREE YES! news.
[SAMPLE]
link

HomeBannerAd_Bookshelf

The YES! ChicoBag(R). Full-size tote that fits in your pocket!

 

Grassroots Power

All it takes is a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens.

Why Saul Alinsky, Author of "Rules" for Social Change, Would Probably Break Them Today Why Saul Alinsky, Author of "Rules" for Social Change, Would Probably Break Them Today
by Mark Engler, Paul Engler
Most organizers today believe that Alinsky taught to focus on building organizations and not social movements. But the author's own political work shows a more flexible approach.
Edward Snowden's TED Talk Offers Guided Tour of NSA Leaks Edward Snowden's TED Talk Offers Guided Tour of NSA Leaks
The former NSA contractor, who is living in asylum in Russia, spoke from the screen of a wheeled robot.
These Seattle Teachers Boycotted Standardized Testing—and Sparked a Nationwide Movement These Seattle Teachers Boycotted Standardized Testing—and Sparked a Nationwide Movement
by Diane Brooks
Parents, students, and teachers all over the country have joined the revolt to liberate our kids from a test-obsessed education system.
W. Virginia's Grassroots Response to Water Crisis: A Movement in the Making? W. Virginia's Grassroots Response to Water Crisis: A Movement in the Making?
by Dana Kuhnline
Community responses to the Elk River chemical spill draw on West Virginia's long, proud history of grassroots work for environmental and economic justice.
John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation
by Valerie Schloredt
In the tradition of “Maus” and “Persepolis,” “March” tells the story of young African Americans who, like its author, rose up from the Jim Crow South to assert their human rights.
This Is What Happened When Scholastic Tried to Bring Pro-Coal Propaganda to School This Is What Happened When Scholastic Tried to Bring Pro-Coal Propaganda to School
by Bill Bigelow
“The United States of Energy” was a colorful series of lessons on the advantages of coal, aimed at 4th-graders—and sponsored by Big Coal. Here’s how educators and activists worked together to get it out of classrooms.
A Social Justice Tour of Oscar Winners Through the Decades A Social Justice Tour of Oscar Winners Through the Decades
by Christopher Zumski Finke
The upcoming Academy Awards will recognize some of 2013’s best social justice-themed films. Here are some of our favorite past winners.
Tiny Houses for the Homeless: An Affordable Solution Catches On Tiny Houses for the Homeless: An Affordable Solution Catches On
by Erika Lundahl
A growing number of towns and cities have found a practical solution to homelessness through the construction of tiny-house villages—and housing officials are taking notice.
Why the Smartphone Became the Lightsaber of the Environmental Justice Movement Why the Smartphone Became the Lightsaber of the Environmental Justice Movement
by Kristin Moe
From West Virginia to the Gulf Coast, residents of communities facing environmental problems are discovering that visual storytelling brings results. Their number-one tool is the humble smartphone.
Paradise Farmed: Inside Kaua'i's Local Food Movement Paradise Farmed: Inside Kaua'i's Local Food Movement
by James Trimarco
The issue of local food is more urgent when you're more than 2,400 miles away from the nearest continent.
India's Own "Occupy": How a New Political Party is Battling Corruption—and Winning  India's Own "Occupy": How a New Political Party is Battling Corruption—and Winning
by Nathan Schneider
A few months ago, India's Aam Aadmi Party was a curiosity; now, it’s a call for pro-democracy movements elsewhere to step up their game.
How a Chicago Mom Liberated a Foreclosure and Got a Home for Her Four Kids How a Chicago Mom Liberated a Foreclosure and Got a Home for Her Four Kids
by Laura Gottesdiener
Displaced by foreclosure, this family took direct action—and got a place to live.
After 20-Year Fight, Bronx Community Wins Big on Development Project Committed to Living Wages and Local Economy After 20-Year Fight, Bronx Community Wins Big on Development Project Committed to Living Wages and Local Economy
by Laura Flanders
The people of New York’s poorest borough fought to ensure that redevelopment of its castle-like landmark will benefit those who live there. Will it be a gamechanger?
The Education of Bill McKibben: How the Unlikely Activist Learned to Break the Rules The Education of Bill McKibben: How the Unlikely Activist Learned to Break the Rules
by Madeline Ostrander
“Sometime in the course of the past decade I figured out that I needed to do more than write—if this fight was about power, then we who wanted change had to assemble some.”
Boulder Votes to Break With Xcel and Start Its Own Power Utility Boulder Votes to Break With Xcel and Start Its Own Power Utility
by Bob Massie
Why moving utilities from corporate to public control puts energy, dollars, and decisions into the hands of local communities.
Personal tools