Sections
Home » People Power » Grassroots Power

Get a FREE Issue. Yes! I want to try YES! Magazine

Nonprofit. Independent. Subscriber-supported. DONATE. How you can support our work.

YES! by Email
Join over 78,000 others already signed up for FREE YES! news.
[SAMPLE]

The YES! ChicoBag(R). Full-size tote that fits in your pocket!

 

Grassroots Power

All it takes is a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens.

Zydeco and Justice: Louisiana's Hyperlocal KOCZ Builds Community and Self-Reliance Zydeco and Justice: Louisiana's Hyperlocal KOCZ Builds Community and Self-Reliance
by Christine St. Pierre
Low-power FM radio stations bring a much-needed focus on local issues and culture.
Tennessee Tied Teachers' Jobs to Standardized Test Scores. Here's How They Pushed Back—And Won. Tennessee Tied Teachers' Jobs to Standardized Test Scores. Here's How They Pushed Back—And Won.
by Molly Rusk
The teachers found their careers at risk when an erratic statistical tool became a key measure of their success.
Meet 6 Nutrition Blogger Moms Who Crashed the McDonald's Shareholder Meeting Meet 6 Nutrition Blogger Moms Who Crashed the McDonald's Shareholder Meeting
by YES! Editors
Current trends suggest one in three kids will develop Type 2 diabetes as adults. These moms told McDonald’s CEO Don Thompson what they think about the fast food industry targeting their kids.
4 Signs Net Neutrality Isn't Dead (Despite an FCC Proposal You're Not Going to Like) 4 Signs Net Neutrality Isn't Dead (Despite an FCC Proposal You're Not Going to Like)
by James Trimarco
They didn't get the proposal they wanted from the FCC. But proponents of a fair and open Internet made important strikes, and the debate is just getting started.
The War on Drugs Destroys Lives—Here Are 6 Things You Can Do About It The War on Drugs Destroys Lives—Here Are 6 Things You Can Do About It
by Wendy Call
The movement to end the violence through the decriminalization of drugs has never had so much momentum. And it's never been easier to get involved.
Meet the Girl Who Sparked Brown v. The Board of Education With a High School Walkout Meet the Girl Who Sparked Brown v. The Board of Education With a High School Walkout
by Nadine Bloch
The stories of people behind the landmark decision—like that of 16-year-old Barbara Rose Johns—are even more compelling and inspiring than the sea-changing ruling itself.
This Fifth-Grader Raised $200,000 to Clean Up the Gulf Oil Spill by Selling Watercolors This Fifth-Grader Raised $200,000 to Clean Up the Gulf Oil Spill by Selling Watercolors
by Christine St. Pierre, Miles Becker
These three young activists found creative ways to tackle issues from climate change to voting rights.
When This Teacher’s Ethnic Studies Classes Were Banned, His Students Took the District to Court—and Won When This Teacher’s Ethnic Studies Classes Were Banned, His Students Took the District to Court—and Won
by Jing Fong
Curtis Acosta's classes in Mexican American Studies gave kids pride in their heritage—until the Arizona Legislature canceled them. That's when his students became activists, and some real-life lessons began.
Why Saul Alinsky, Author of "Rules" for Social Change, Would Probably Break Them Today Why Saul Alinsky, Author of "Rules" for Social Change, Would Probably Break Them Today
by Mark Engler, Paul Engler
Most organizers today believe that Alinsky taught to focus on building organizations and not social movements. But the author's own political work shows a more flexible approach.
Edward Snowden's TED Talk Offers Guided Tour of NSA Leaks Edward Snowden's TED Talk Offers Guided Tour of NSA Leaks
The former NSA contractor, who is living in asylum in Russia, spoke from the screen of a wheeled robot.
These Seattle Teachers Boycotted Standardized Testing—and Sparked a Nationwide Movement These Seattle Teachers Boycotted Standardized Testing—and Sparked a Nationwide Movement
by Diane Brooks
Parents, students, and teachers all over the country have joined the revolt to liberate our kids from a test-obsessed education system.
W. Virginia's Grassroots Response to Water Crisis: A Movement in the Making? W. Virginia's Grassroots Response to Water Crisis: A Movement in the Making?
by Dana Kuhnline
Community responses to the Elk River chemical spill draw on West Virginia's long, proud history of grassroots work for environmental and economic justice.
John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation
by Valerie Schloredt
In the tradition of “Maus” and “Persepolis,” “March” tells the story of young African Americans who, like its author, rose up from the Jim Crow South to assert their human rights.
This Is What Happened When Scholastic Tried to Bring Pro-Coal Propaganda to School This Is What Happened When Scholastic Tried to Bring Pro-Coal Propaganda to School
by Bill Bigelow
“The United States of Energy” was a colorful series of lessons on the advantages of coal, aimed at 4th-graders—and sponsored by Big Coal. Here’s how educators and activists worked together to get it out of classrooms.
A Social Justice Tour of Oscar Winners Through the Decades A Social Justice Tour of Oscar Winners Through the Decades
by Christopher Zumski Finke
The upcoming Academy Awards will recognize some of 2013’s best social justice-themed films. Here are some of our favorite past winners.
Personal tools