YES! Magazine Nominated for General Excellence. Read All About It.
Sections
Home » People Power » PEOPLE POWER

Nonprofit. Independent. Subscriber-supported. DONATE. How you can support our work.

Get a FREE Issue. Yes! I want to try YES! Magazine

YES! by Email
Join over 78,000 others already signed up for FREE YES! news.
[SAMPLE]
link

HomeBannerAd_Bookshelf

The YES! ChicoBag(R). Full-size tote that fits in your pocket!

 

PEOPLE POWER

How “we the people” decide what we want, and how we get it.

When Big Money Controls Big Media, There’s a Big Decline in Democracy When Big Money Controls Big Media, There’s a Big Decline in Democracy
by David Kortava
“Dollarocracy” examines innovations in other democratic nations to solve our money-in-politics crisis.
They Started by Blockading a Bus Full of Detainees—And Went on to Shake Up the Immigration Debate They Started by Blockading a Bus Full of Detainees—And Went on to Shake Up the Immigration Debate
by Rachael Stoeve
A look at the growing influence of undocumented voices in the movement for immigrant rights.
Why Saul Alinsky, Author of "Rules" for Social Change, Would Probably Break Them Today Why Saul Alinsky, Author of "Rules" for Social Change, Would Probably Break Them Today
by Mark Engler, Paul Engler
Most organizers today believe that Alinsky taught to focus on building organizations and not social movements. But the author's own political work shows a more flexible approach.
How Better Health Care for the Poor Makes a Stronger Economy for All How Better Health Care for the Poor Makes a Stronger Economy for All
by Imara Jones
By keeping workers healthy, the Affordable Care Act will help the working poor achieve greater financial stability—and will probably boost the economy as well.
Get Intersectional! (Or, Why Your Movement Can't Go It Alone) Get Intersectional! (Or, Why Your Movement Can't Go It Alone)
by Kristin Moe
"Intersectionality" has evolved from a theory of how oppression works to a notion of how people can fight it.
The Supreme Court Just Gave You One More Reason to Join the Clean Elections Movement The Supreme Court Just Gave You One More Reason to Join the Clean Elections Movement
by Fran Korten
The McCutcheon decision will boost the political power of the one percent at the expense of the rest of us. But it also adds to the urgency of the movement that's working to take back our democracy.
Edward Snowden's TED Talk Offers Guided Tour of NSA Leaks Edward Snowden's TED Talk Offers Guided Tour of NSA Leaks
The former NSA contractor, who is living in asylum in Russia, spoke from the screen of a wheeled robot.
Architect of Bush Administration’s No Child Left Behind Law: “I Was Wrong” Architect of Bush Administration’s No Child Left Behind Law: “I Was Wrong”
by Scott Nine
In her new book, Diane Ravitch—one of the leading thinkers behind the controversial Bush-era law—explores how the faulty logic of high-stakes testing, charter school expansion, and privatization hinders education.
These Seattle Teachers Boycotted Standardized Testing—and Sparked a Nationwide Movement These Seattle Teachers Boycotted Standardized Testing—and Sparked a Nationwide Movement
by Diane Brooks
Parents, students, and teachers all over the country have joined the revolt to liberate our kids from a test-obsessed education system.
Video: Can Co-Ops Curb Poverty In New York City? Video: Can Co-Ops Curb Poverty In New York City?
by Laura Flanders
Of the many businesses in New York, only 23 are worker co-ops. But those that exist have a strong record of raising wages and reducing poverty, especially in low-income communities like city councilmember Maria del Carmen Arroyo's South Bronx district.
W. Virginia's Grassroots Response to Water Crisis: A Movement in the Making? W. Virginia's Grassroots Response to Water Crisis: A Movement in the Making?
by Dana Kuhnline
Community responses to the Elk River chemical spill draw on West Virginia's long, proud history of grassroots work for environmental and economic justice.
John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation
by Valerie Schloredt
In the tradition of “Maus” and “Persepolis,” “March” tells the story of young African Americans who, like its author, rose up from the Jim Crow South to assert their human rights.
Jon Stewart on the "Insanity" of Buying Seafood with Food Stamps Jon Stewart on the "Insanity" of Buying Seafood with Food Stamps
What do right-wing TV anchors think low-income people should eat? Not salmon, apparently.
This Is What Happened When Scholastic Tried to Bring Pro-Coal Propaganda to School This Is What Happened When Scholastic Tried to Bring Pro-Coal Propaganda to School
by Bill Bigelow
“The United States of Energy” was a colorful series of lessons on the advantages of coal, aimed at 4th-graders—and sponsored by Big Coal. Here’s how educators and activists worked together to get it out of classrooms.
Infographic: The Math Error Behind 30 Years of Education Policy Infographic: The Math Error Behind 30 Years of Education Policy
by Doug Pibel
An influential study's failure to consider factors like poverty, race, and immigration concealed the fact that scores were improving.
Personal tools