YES! Magazine Nominated for General Excellence. Read All About It.
Sections
Home » People Power

Nonprofit. Independent. Subscriber-supported. DONATE. How you can support our work.

Get a FREE Issue. Yes! I want to try YES! Magazine

YES! by Email
Join over 78,000 others already signed up for FREE YES! news.
[SAMPLE]
link

HomeBannerAd_Bookshelf

The YES! ChicoBag(R). Full-size tote that fits in your pocket!

 

— tags:

PEOPLE POWER

How “we the people” decide what we want, and how we get it.

Why Saul Alinsky, Author of "Rules" for Social Change, Would Probably Break Them Today
Why Saul Alinsky, Author of "Rules" for Social Change, Would Probably Break Them Today
Most organizers today believe that Alinsky taught to focus on building organizations and not social movements. But the author's own political work shows a more flexible approach.
Posted Apr 10, 2014
How Better Health Care for the Poor Makes a Stronger Economy for All
How Better Health Care for the Poor Makes a Stronger Economy for All
By keeping workers healthy, the Affordable Care Act will help the working poor achieve greater financial stability—and will probably boost the economy as well.
Posted Apr 07, 2014
Get Intersectional! (Or, Why Your Movement Can't Go It Alone)
Get Intersectional! (Or, Why Your Movement Can't Go It Alone)
"Intersectionality" has evolved from a theory of how oppression works to a notion of how people can fight it.
Posted Apr 04, 2014
The Supreme Court Just Gave You One More Reason to Join the Clean Elections Movement
The Supreme Court Just Gave You One More Reason to Join the Clean Elections Movement
The McCutcheon decision will boost the political power of the one percent at the expense of the rest of us. But it also adds to the urgency of the movement that's working to take back our democracy.
Posted Apr 03, 2014
Edward Snowden's TED Talk Offers Guided Tour of NSA Leaks
Edward Snowden's TED Talk Offers Guided Tour of NSA Leaks
The former NSA contractor, who is living in asylum in Russia, spoke from the screen of a wheeled robot.
Posted Mar 21, 2014
Architect of Bush Administration’s No Child Left Behind Law: “I Was Wrong”
Architect of Bush Administration’s No Child Left Behind Law: “I Was Wrong”
In her new book, Diane Ravitch—one of the leading thinkers behind the controversial Bush-era law—explores how the faulty logic of high-stakes testing, charter school expansion, and privatization hinders education.
Posted Mar 14, 2014
These Seattle Teachers Boycotted Standardized Testing—and Sparked a Nationwide Movement
These Seattle Teachers Boycotted Standardized Testing—and Sparked a Nationwide Movement
Parents, students, and teachers all over the country have joined the revolt to liberate our kids from a test-obsessed education system.
Posted Mar 14, 2014
Video: Can Co-Ops Curb Poverty In New York City?
Video: Can Co-Ops Curb Poverty In New York City?
Of the many businesses in New York, only 23 are worker co-ops. But those that exist have a strong record of raising wages and reducing poverty, especially in low-income communities like city councilmember Maria del Carmen Arroyo's South Bronx district.
Posted Mar 14, 2014
W. Virginia's Grassroots Response to Water Crisis: A Movement in the Making?
W. Virginia's Grassroots Response to Water Crisis: A Movement in the Making?
Community responses to the Elk River chemical spill draw on West Virginia's long, proud history of grassroots work for environmental and economic justice.
Posted Mar 13, 2014
John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation
John Lewis’ Moving Graphic Novel Brings the Civil Rights Struggle to a New Generation
In the tradition of “Maus” and “Persepolis,” “March” tells the story of young African Americans who, like its author, rose up from the Jim Crow South to assert their human rights.
Posted Mar 06, 2014
Jon Stewart on the "Insanity" of Buying Seafood with Food Stamps
Jon Stewart on the "Insanity" of Buying Seafood with Food Stamps
What do right-wing TV anchors think low-income people should eat? Not salmon, apparently.
Posted Mar 06, 2014
This Is What Happened When Scholastic Tried to Bring Pro-Coal Propaganda to School
This Is What Happened When Scholastic Tried to Bring Pro-Coal Propaganda to School
“The United States of Energy” was a colorful series of lessons on the advantages of coal, aimed at 4th-graders—and sponsored by Big Coal. Here’s how educators and activists worked together to get it out of classrooms.
Posted Mar 06, 2014
Infographic: The Math Error Behind 30 Years of Education Policy
Infographic: The Math Error Behind 30 Years of Education Policy
An influential study's failure to consider factors like poverty, race, and immigration concealed the fact that scores were improving.
Posted Mar 05, 2014
A Social Justice Tour of Oscar Winners Through the Decades
A Social Justice Tour of Oscar Winners Through the Decades
The upcoming Academy Awards will recognize some of 2013’s best social justice-themed films. Here are some of our favorite past winners.
Posted Feb 28, 2014
Nothing to Hide? Why Facebook's Fine Print Is Still Worth Fighting
Nothing to Hide? Why Facebook's Fine Print Is Still Worth Fighting
Devices we use every day are turning our personal data over to huge corporations. But can we win our privacy back?
Posted Feb 24, 2014

Filed under:
Personal tools